Food for thought

I can’t help but notice that my mentioning food of any kind on the blog or on Facebook resultsWatergate Salad in the most hits and gets people talking. I had a Facebook request for Watergate salad last week, and one reader told me he’s been enjoying the teasing about favorite Southern foods. He asked me what foods are unique to the North. Uhhh, Boston baked beans? Philly cheese steaks?

I got to thinking that maybe I should add pages here for sharing recipes, Southern and Northern. I have some humdingers and I’m sure many of you do, too. Several foodie bloggers have subscribed to Carolina Yankee, and I’m sure they’d be delighted to share some of their secrets with us. As a matter of fact, I found this Down-Home Macaroni & Cheese recipe buried among many others on the Ranting Chef‘s blog. I’ll bet it rivals the one I shared with you yesterday.  I have no intention of turning this into a food blog, but it might be fun to open up a page for recipes and commentary on the foods we love and hate from both sides of the Mason-Dixon Line. Let me know of your interest either through the comments section below or on the Carolina Yankee Facebook page.

Speaking of which, if you haven’t visited the Carolina Yankee Facefacebookbook page, you’re missing out on stuff I don’t have time to post here. Good stuff. Funny stuff. With pictures. Head there now, “like” the page, and you’ll begin seeing the Carolina Yankee in your news feed. And you can follow me on Twitter @CarolynahYankee.

2 thoughts on “Food for thought

  1. Growing up in Maryland to parents born and raised in western Carolina, we frequently made the trip south to visit family. We always returned with livermush, pimento cheese and Cheerwine! The food I would like to know more about, however, is the sonker. My dad loved peach sonkers and this is not just another name for pie. Apparently, it’s made with biscuit dough that is incorporated in strips throughout the pie, which is always huge and bursting with fruit, no round pie plate for this baby. I’d like to hear more about other Southerners take on this regional specialty!

    • Yes, livermush is sold in the grocery stores here. It’s packaged just as scrapple is, but they don’t eat scrapple down here. What the heck are livermush and scrapple anyway? Pimento cheese sandwiches are as popular as macaroni and cheese in the South – they’re everywhere. Cheerwine isn’t as popular as Dr. Pepper and Mountain Dew, at least not where I live.

      Now, as for the sonker, I’ve never heard of such a thing! And, since I was practically your dad’s fourth daughter, how come I never tasted this yumilicious-sounding treat? Make me one next time I’m up your way, please. I’ll even bring the peaches. That’s what we grow down here. Matter of fact, South Carolina grows and sells more peaches than Georgia. Yup, it’s true.

Genteel comments and questions welcome!