Driving myself crazy

Always wanting to be wherever I’m not

I recently spent a week “back home” in Maryland relaxing on the beach in Ocean City. Hadn’t been there since… well, not for a very looong time. That was where we vacationed every year throughout my childhood. I have wonderful memories of that town in particular and Maryland’s Eastern Shore in general.

The girls I was with could make a vacation in Kabul fun, but sitting in the sand with such smart, funny, relaxed women of a certain age was a tonic for my soul. However, I gotta say the beach in Maryland can’t compare to those in the Carolinas (with the exception of the Myrtle Beach area beaches, where I refuse to go except in the winter).

This is not a pelican, but a disgusting seagull.

This is not a pelican, but a disgusting seagull.

The South Atlantic coast can’t be beat, from Topsail to Surfside to Isle of Palms to Fripp and even onto Tybee Island in Georgia. I didn’t see one pelican or find any sand dollars in Ocean City. Can you believe it?

On the flip side, I don’t eat too much seafood down south because the Chesapeake Bay area has the best, hands down! I tried the clam chowder on Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco once and thought I was going to be sick. When I first moved to South Carolina I had to have my brother mail me a can of Chesapeake Bay seasoning because they didn’t sell it in the grocery stores here. Fortunately, things have improved in that department.

Anyway, the upshot of spending a week back in my old stomping grounds left me even more confused about where I want to live, and only underscores why I call myself the Carolina Yankee. And if you don’t know me personally, you’ll know me if you pass me on the road…

20140909_101545image_1

2 thoughts on “Driving myself crazy

  1. I’m from Maryland too. Love the crab flag sticker. Nice to hear you went “downy oshun, hon.” I haven’t been to the beaches in Georgia yet, but my husband and I are planning a trip to St. Simon’s very soon. 🙂

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

