A man speaks up!

Literally!

champagne-toastI won’t pretend that South Carolina  House Speaker Bobby Harrell’s announcement was in response to my recent blog post about our state’s shameful domestic violence statistics. I believe the Post and Courier deserves that credit. Cheers!

Let’s hope the committee Harrell sets up will actually accomplish something… and include an abundance of women. businesswoman-wearing-heelsBetter yet, let’s all contact him and make that suggestion!

I confess my curiosity: Is Harrell actually concerned about reducing domestic violence or using the platform to rehab his own questionable reputation? Tsk tsk to me, but what would a post from yours truly be without a little snark?

To end on a more positive note than that, I’d like to thank everyone who shared my blog post on social media and took the time to contact me with their opinions and comments – positive and negative. I read and responded to all of them. The response has been terrific. Let’s keep up the good work bringing awareness to the need for change in the laws and culture regarding domestic violence in South Carolina.

5 thoughts on “A man speaks up!

  1. I’m so thrilled that I found your blog through the previous post. I spent three short years in the DC metro area, and coming back home to SC was a culture shock that I never expected. I am continually amazed by the bigotry, ignorance, and backwards politics that I never noticed as a kid growing up here, and I just want us to be better. *I* want to do better.

    I know you call yourself a Yankee in jest, but I’m sorry for everyone who calls you that as though they think it’s an insult. It’s embarrassing that we still have such a weird, antiquated “us vs. them” mentality in the 21st century. This land is my land, this land is your land. (This land is actually Native American land that we forcibly stole from the original landowners. Isn’t that the next line of the song?)

    Thank you for not only reporting an update, but for leaving us with a call to action to get involved, contact our representatives, and make sure our voices are heard. I’ll be sending an email, a written letter, and calling in to speak with a staffer to make sure someone hears the message.

    Speaker Harrell’s contact information (address, office phone, and email link) through the SC Legislature online site is here too if this is helpful: http://www.scstatehouse.gov/member.php?code=0747727183

    • I’m glad you found the blog, too, and thanks for the encouragement and kind words. I had to close the comments section in the original post, “What I Really Hate about South Carolina,” because too many ignorant, mean, uninformed people were making unnecessary remarks, some bordering on threats. It’s those people who perpetuate the problem I’m addressing.

      I’m so glad you took the time to share your thoughts.

  2. You mentioned on the previous blog that Nikki Haley was an idiot but, like most liberals, you don’t back that statement up with any “fer-instances”. Do you have any specific reasons why you think that way?

    • I’m not sure why you peg me as a liberal without knowing me or my politics. I don’t think anyone has ever labeled me that before. Also, I never said Nikki Haley is an idiot. I believe a reader used that word in the comments section of that blog post. I’m not a Haley fan, but she’s not an idiot. Mark Sanford and Thomas Ravenel are idiots. Surely I don’t need to back that statement up with any “fer-instances.”

      Thanks for visiting the blog.

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

