What I really hate about South Carolina

And why you should, too.

Welcome to SCI’ve spent the past two years or so sharing my perspective, often with my tongue held firmly in my cheek, about the people, places and culture of South Carolina. Today, I won’t hold my tongue at all, but will go full Yankee on you.

I’ve made no secret that much of South Carolina culture and politics causes me embarrassment, most of which I can laugh off. However, the fact that I live in the state that boasts the highest rate in the nation of women murdered by men makes my blood boil. South Carolina is at or near the top of too many embarrassing lists, but this statistic can no longer be kept buried on the back pages of unread newspapers. Shame on the legislators, educators, clergy and citizens – especially the women – of South Carolina and beyond who remain ignorant, silent and idle about this epidemic by not creating and demanding solutions. I’m talking to YOU.

The root of the problem

South Carolina’s violence-against-women culture is perpetuated by citizens who complacently allow the good ol’ boy network to rule the roost with weak laws and hypocritical Bible belt values.  This Civil War-era mindset succeeds in keeping women right where the men want them: in the background. They know that women are intuitive, and a woman with a voice means potential exposure of the ineffective boys’ club.

Rather than empower women, in South Carolina we demean them.

Even the University of South Carolina’s mascot is a cock, for God’s sake!

Proof of this culture lies in the fact that not one of South Carolina’s 46 counties has a female sheriff. Our state law enforcement agency is led by men. All seven congressional seats are filled by men. In fact, only four women have ever served South Carolinians in the U.S. House of Representatives – the most recent ending her term back in 1993. No woman has ever represented South Carolina in the U.S. Senate. Let me repeat that: In 226 years of statehood, South Carolinians have NEVER sent a woman to represent them in the U.S. Senate.

Instead, we support ancient senators in office who legislate from a hospital bed, vote and revote sheriffs into 40-year terms and re-elect politicians who blatantly disrespect women.

In 2010 we finally elected our first female governor. Nikki Haley is of the generation of women who benefited most from women’s rights and is now in position to be speaking loud and clear on this issue. Instead she slashed funding for domestic violence and sexual assault programs in 2012 saying in part,

“Each of these lines attempts to serve a portion of our population for which we extend our sympathy and encouragement, but nevertheless, it is only a small portion of South Carolina’s chronically ill or abused.” (Emphasis mine)

She’s talking about women who are at risk of dying by the hands of men who profess to love them. Her many other shocking missteps are fodder for another [very long] blog post.

Of course, South Carolina’s perpetual poverty, unemployment and education problems also factor into the issue of domestic violence.

Will things ever change?

Has help for these women finally arrived? Charleston’s “Post and Courier” researched the subject in-depth and wrote a seven-part report entitled “Til Death Do Us Part.” The report was the subject of a segment on Public Radio International’s program “The Take Away” the other day. I listened to it on the way to work with tears of fury streaming down my face.

A few teasers from the article:

  • All 46 counties have at least one animal shelter to care for stray dogs and cats, but the state has only 18 domestic violence shelters to help women trying to escape abuse in the home.
  • South Carolina’s murder rate for women is more than double the national rate.
  • Maximum days in jail for first-time domestic abusers in South Carolina: 30 daysDomestic abuse in SC
  • More than a third of men charged with domestic killings over the past decade had at least one prior arrest for criminal domestic violence or assault.
  • The only consistent state money budgeted for programs and protecting victims of domestic violence is a portion of proceeds from marriage license fees, which equates to roughly $22 per victim.
  • State legislatures put up about a dozen bills aimed at protecting victims of domestic violence. All died except one, which protects the welfare of family pets left in the care of a person with pending domestic abuse charges.

The “Post and Courier” report offers insight into what other states are doing to reduce domestic violence and protect victims. The national rates have been declining for years, so we know it’s possible for South Carolina to get this under control. The women I’m talking about live next door to you, teach your children, share your office space and sit next to you in church. They don’t have a voice.   Your silence and inaction keep these women at risk.

Be a role model

If you can’t be bothered reading the report and educating yourself on the issue, you’re part of the problem. Women in South Carolina who don’t run for office or encourage and support other women running for office are part of the problem. Men who discourage or prevent women from participating in the public conversation and running for office are part of the problem. Governor Nikki Haley, you are part of the problem. Our attorney general, the S.C. Department of Social Services, every sheriff and police department, church, local Barefoot-Pregnantmedia outlet and emergency medical professional in South Carolina should be stepping out, speaking up and taking action against our culture of women as things to be played with, humiliated, and abused.

The culture in South Carolina has to change and it has to begin with you and me.

Not everyone is in a position to make big changes. But anyone can contribute to the solution. One simple step would be to share this post or the “Post and Courier” report with friends, family, co-workers and legislators. Talk about the issue. Raise your voice. Don’t vote for candidates who won’t address the issue. Volunteer for organizations that are part of the solution. Get your church involved.

I’ll be Tweeting, posting and emailing the link to this article to every person or agency mentioned in this post. You can do that, too. Some of us can do much more.

Silent acceptance of the status quo keeps women at risk. The statistics prove that your silence could one day result in the funeral of your daughter or granddaughter.

55 thoughts on “What I really hate about South Carolina

    • Thank you, but it’s not even so much that we elect idiots, but that [idiotic] men are who holds the power. Women need to become more active and make their voices heard in politics, community service, the church and academics.

      And you have Nashville. That’s something to love about Tennessee!

    • Hello, Pam. I would love to move back, but my family, job and friends are here. This is home. But I don’t want to move north because I hate the South. A good scan of the blog posts would reveal that I have a love-hate relationship with the South. Southerners who move north have the same struggle. The title of the post was meant to be provocative. If you read the whole article you might understand why I’m curious how my post demanding protecting for abused women would motivate such a response from you, who I assume to be female.

      • For me, it is this statement. “I’ve made no secret that much of South Carolina culture and politics causes me embarrassment”.
        I believe if you left out the word “much”, I would be a little more understanding. I agree 100% with your article’s main subject, but you start of insulting “much” of my home. Every state has its quirks, but the fact that “much of South Carolina culture causes you embarrassment” is the reasoning that I believe Pam says go home. I had the same thought when I read your first paragraph as well. For me, it tainted the rest of your point.

      • Hi, B.B., and thank you for your comment. I can see your point. However, I’m not going to retract or edit my post. Many Southerners who travel north find Yankee behavior shameful and rude. It’s a culture thing. While I’m not unhappy living in South Carolina, it’s hard to hold my head high when guests from up north visit and witness some of the antebellum attitudes and policies that keep this lovely state ranked at or near the bottom of so many national surveys, to say nothing of the shameful Civil War era politics (need I elaborate?). There’s a lot of potential in South Carolina, but not enough people stepping forward to make the necessary social changes. And I’m not talking sweet tea vs. iced tea. South Carolina needs to step into the 21st century, particularly when it comes to the welfare of women and children. Again, thanks for sharing and taking the time to read the post.

  1. Just a quick correction. The university of South Carolinas mascot is not a “cock”. It is a gamecock, as a mascot it is represents a type of rooster or chicken. It supposedly comes from the nickname of revolutionary war soldier Thomas sumter. And just to note, I am a native Ohioan

    • Hi, Evan! Yes, I’m fully aware of the USC Gamecock origins. I live 10 minutes from campus and my town lives and breathes garnet and black. Since you’re probably not a regular reader of my blog, my signature quirky sense of humor went over your head. Even this serious topic had to have some levity injected.

      You know what else? South Carolina has an unusually high number of native Ohio transplants. Can you enlighten me as to why that might be?

      Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Bless your heart. I’m sorry you think Southern women have been kept behind closed doors…truth be told, they run everything. Funny you single out a state, ” for your cause”, instead of the whole country, or world for that matter. And trust me….NO southerner goes north and stays north. Funny how all you come here though.

    • Hi, T. Buriss. To set the record straight, I didn’t single out this state for any cause. The statistics have shown, for years now, that domestic violence is out of control. I don’t think women are behind closed doors. I think the majority of Southern men want them there and too many Southern women aren’t in leadership positions – where they can make change.

      And I know plenty of Southerners who have made the trek north and stayed. It’s a mobile society and many of us go where the money is. Are you not aware of the problem we have of our SC college graduates departing for greener pastures?

  3. “who remain ignorant, silent and idle”

    From a southern woman who lived in SC during a period when she could have benefited from greater protection under the law, thank you. You speak well of the faults in the state. Please ignore the naysayers who comment and are, no doubt, happy to keep the blue law on the books that allows a husband to bring his wife to the courthouse of a Sunday and beat her there if he can show just cause.

    SC also has the dubious distinction of reducing a woman’s sentence for killing her husband by 25% if she can demonstrate to the sentencing judge “clear and compelling evidence” of a “pervasive pattern” of physical abusive. SC has a century and a half of catching up to do.

    • Thank you, Stephanie. I don’t let the naysayers get me down. They don’t read the article, only the headline. There’s nothing anti-South Carolina in anything I said. I appreciate your support and thanks for commenting!

  4. As a life long South Carolina resident THANK YOU!!! This is a huge problem that needs to be addressed. As a former victim of domestic abuse I can tell you the services are extremely lacking. As hard as some of these programs try there is just not much they are able to do. There is an attitude of well just leave, it’s not that hard. When you have someone who has put you in a place where you are dependent on them, it makes the act of leaving very hard even more so if children are involved. Places to get information and education about how to leave an abusive situation are non existent in most areas. Most of the time you have to go to other counties for help. This goes for children too.Most of the time the abuser doesn’t even get close to thirty days and they go right back home. Thank you for at least starting a conversation that needs to be had.

    • Hi, Whitney, and thanks for sharing your perspective. I’m glad you’re a former victim who lived to tell the tale. As you know, too many victims are kept silent until it’s too late. You’ll be doing your part by sharing the Post & Courier article and my post with your friends, family, co-workers and others in South Carolina. Awareness of this shameful epidemic is the first step toward eradicating it. Best wishes to you, and thanks for commenting!

  5. Go cocks! Sorry… I appreciate your viewpoint and passionate disgust regarding the southern “good ole boy” mentality that rules many of our offices. Just tread carefully. We are equally passionate about tarring and feathering Yankees who enjoy our sunshine but bash our way of life…even whee we can improve.

    • You never see me bashing the Southern way of life. Giggling at some of the antics, jargon and attitudes, yes, but never insulting or judging it. We Yanks are good for a few laughs, too.

      Thanks, Dawn, for stopping by and taking the time to share.

  6. I am so happy you addressed this issue. Most people who read this will automatically judged you and your opinion because you are a “yank” Many people that in the south are very quick to defend and judge our “great” state but not even know what they are defending. For people to actually bash you over this post is beyond me…. You are doing a great job being active in your state by bringing awareness to this. Everyone is quick to jump on the band wagon for awareness when it is easy, for example the ice bucket challenge, it is sweeping across the nation because it isn’t a touchy subject. Now you raise your voice for these poor victims and everyone wants you to hush…. Doesn’t make much sense but that’s exactly how our society works. Many women are told to just suck it up and go and apologize for whatever they did wrong to deserve the treatment that they were given! It is absolutely appauling that our justice system will actually blame the victims!! Just keep on keeping on because you are doing an amazing thing! Women who have fallen victim to domestic violence all over this state may have a chance to read this and finally get enough courage to take a stand for themselves! I applaude you greatly! Keep it up!!

  7. I agree that we have a huge problem here in south Carolina, but if you’re actually interested in helping then you should try appealing to South Carolinians rather than insulting the place/people that most of us love very much. To me it seems more like you are bitter and angry and just want to lash out at a place that you are forced to be. We have many women in influential positions, including our governor. Change doesn’t happen in a day. Maybe go donate to something or organize an awareness march. Be proactive and helpful rather than sitting behind a screen, and blaming men and weak women. Be the change you want to see, because this is a very important topic, and all this post made me want to do was tell you to get out.

    • Kristina, I AM appealing to the people of South Carolina and everything you suggested is what I was appealing for in my piece. I AM the change I want to see, simply by drawing attention to the problem of which so many are unaware. I want them to be the change, too. I am not bitter, angry or forced to be here, thankyouverymuch. I live here willingly with the family I raised and I work hard at my job, contributing to the great state of South Carolina. Nikki Haley, on the other hand, is a less than stellar example of a woman candidate I would endorse. We can do better than that!

      Thanks for sharing your perspective.

      • ” full Yankee on you” Nope, not appealing to South Carolinians. “Damn” is supposed to be used as an adjective for those who have moved to our state…

        I agree with most of what you said but I really do not get your since of humor and my first immediate reaction was that you need to go back up north.

        Blogging is doing something and Nicki Haley had my social security number leaked under her watch. She makes the governor who went hiking on the “Appalachian trail” with our tax dollars look good.

      • Sorry you don’t get my sense of humor, Ben, which was sparse in this particularly serious blog post. Maybe if you read some of my other posts, you would get a feel for it. I’m not really sure I understand what you were trying to say in your last sentence. Your comment about Haley’s hacking blunder making Sanford look good is contradictory, to say the least.

        But thanks for taking the time to read the post and share your thoughts.

  8. The saddest part of this whole thing for me is the women in the comments section arguing that women in the South don’t have it that bad. That mentality is exactly why women the world over are still getting treated as second-class citizens: women in these situations have been convinced that they are already empowered and get angry when anyone tries to point out that the situation is still bullshit.

    I was reading up on South Carolina’s domestic abuse laws (here http://www.scstatehouse.gov/code/t16c025.php) …and I have to say I am sincerely terrified for the women of that state.
    It takes three full convictions for any abuser to be jailed for longer than a year, and even then, they cannot be held for more than five. And that’s three full convictions of abuse strong enough to be life-threatening.
    In the event that an officer arrives to arrest a domestic abuser, and the abuser delivers a “conflicting report” of the events, it is at the officer’s discretion whether to arrest him or not.
    If a woman goes to a domestic violence shelter and her abuser pursues her there and hurts her further, he “must be fined not more than three thousand dollars or imprisoned for not more than three years.”

    Rather than making any attempt to actually protect anyone, these laws are full of purposeful language designed to keep the sentencing from becoming too strict -on someone convicted of attempting to beat their domestic partner into a state determined by the court to be life-threatening.-

    This shouldn’t just upset women. This should upset men. If you found out that your sister’s boyfriend, or your daughter’s husband, had beat her nearly to death and wasn’t allowed to serve more than thirty days for it, wouldn’t that upset you? If she got out and got away and he went after her and beat her in a domestic violence shelter, and he couldn’t serve more than three years tops or pay less than a solid flat-screen TV, wouldn’t that bug the shit out of you? I just don’t understand how anyone doesn’t see this as a problem.

    • Kiki, will you please run for governor in our upcoming election? We need women like you here. I’d say, “bless your heart,” but that’s controversial, too ! Thank you for adding more facts to the conversation. Stop by anytime!

    • In that regard our laws aren’t much different from other states. For example, since Ohio was previously discussed in the thread, the maximum penalty for a first offense in Ohio is 60 days in jail and up to a $500 fine. Ohio’s maximum penalty for a second offense is 3 months in jail and $750 fine and the penalty for a third offense is six months in jail and a $1,000 fine. By that standard, South Carolina’s 5 years on the third offense is downright liberal.

  9. I appreciate this article, but I think the tone and how you decided to present this can be a little abrasive or jading just because of how passionate you are obviously are about this subject. Which is great! I’d just be careful about ruffling to many feathers if you want to get people to genuinely listen.
    With that said, I do agree with you almost entirely and loved the article. I am a male who used to live in California for most of his life and moved here during middle school, so most of my life that I can recall has been here in South Carolina. From what I can see is that most people just can’t be bothered to care, and when you look around campus and see guys and girls alike walking around talking about what bar they are going to tonight, or how “shwasted” they are going to get, you see honestly everyone is just to distracted or busy to pay attention to matters as important as this.
    In my opinion, and this just my opinion, both guys and girls are at fault for this problem and many others throughout or nation.
    First off us guys need to rediscover what chivalry is and what being a man with class means. So many guys walk around thinking so much of themselves for that one night stand they had last night, how much beer they drank the other night, or how many girls they have had sex with, and they don’t realize that these girls are also people not just objects or possessions you count or number. Real people, with hearts, minds, and souls, which are often truer, smarter, and deeper than our own.
    Which leads me to my next opinion, and I hope no ladies are to offended by this but its for your own good hopefully. I think many of the woman here in South Carolina need to think more of themselves and need to learn to find satisfaction of the desire to be wanted in different ways. Meaning don’t let guys treat you like objects, have higher standards basically, and then in turn guys will have to become better people to meet your standards. Us humans are so much more than just these bodies in ways we don’t really understand, and probably never will, and woman in so many ways have, can, and should embody the some of the greatest aspects of what exactly being human means. Generally speaking of course, since we all vary so much and all bring so much to the table, but woman often specifically need to understand this and the innate value you girls have just by being who you are. So raise your standards, and force the guys to do the same, for both our goods cause God knows we need probably more than you do!
    Now of course, this is all extremely difficult. We want to have fun, explore, and experience life, but also choices and the way we act have ramifications. Letting ourselves be degraded back to simple desires and vanishing satisfactions will only make us treat each other less like humans and more like objects or bags of meat or whatever…
    Now back to the topic at hand, I believe that this dynamic plays a huge role in the domestic violence problem here in South Carolina. I only barely scratched the surface with all the behaviors and psychology behind why I think this is part of the problem, but to illustrate before I finish this long ass comment (sorry for the language :P). If a primate wants something regardless of if it is their’s or not, they go and try to take it or get it. Well how does a primate react if it is not given what it wants? It lashes out, gets angry, throws things, etc. So let’s NOT be primates, let’s move past that and mature some, and be okay when sometimes we don’t get what we want. Not ruled by blind emotion and impulses. Let’s treat each other like humans, learn to truly care for each other for deeper reasons that physical attraction, and just be better people in general. This will fix almost all of our problems, but it requires that we all do it and its not easy. It means we have to be different, and change is scary. We like being comfortable, and are afraid of being hurt. I promise it’ll be worth it!
    Now as I climb off my soap box, I just want to thank you for this article and all the facts and awareness that comes with it. It definitely made me think about all this and decide to type this out. So keep writing, spreading awareness, and hopefully change can be made.

    Thank You!

  10. Perhaps the reason you don’t understand the response of Pam Holladay or B Baucom or others below is: because you start with your intentionally provocative title, then make generalized insulting statements about South Carolina, and all the while creating a “me-they” climate of conflict by making this a kind of “civilized-enlightened-Yankee vs backwards-antebellum-rednecks” kind of discussion.

    I just want to say, if you want to create an atmosphere of awareness and change, you have to first identify with the community you are trying to reach: for you that community is both the victimized and powerless women AND the men you see as aggressors. You will never succeed if you continue this “angry outsider” approach. You will only turn them off to you. People in the South, particularly in SC, do NOT take well to the image of any “Yankee” trying to come down from “up there” and change their entire way of life…as if you (generically) have some kind of authority or right to do that. Look into the research. It will tell you that effective social change NEVER comes from the outside-in. You have to first identify with the culture. Otherwise, I agree: go home because you will be doing more harm than good by making those who are “the problem” that much more stubborn and resistant.

    One more point: your topic is a good one and should be addressed, but think through your argument. You say to all women of SC, if you do not run for office you are part of the problem. Then you say, not everyone is in position to make big changes. You also bash the only woman in SC in a position of power. That leaves 99.9% of women in SC who cannot realistically run for office; thus they will forever be “part of the problem” because you said they would be. Congratulations, you just inoculated the very empowerment of women you are trying to foster. You also fail to highlight any progress being made by any men in SC and instead generalize all of them as either ignorant, dismissive, or perpetrators…not very attractive for people who would join your cause.

    Written by a native Pennsylvanian living in South Carolina–a place I love to call home.

    • Hi, Nathan, and thanks for your comments. I respect your perspective, and I most certainly DO understand the responses to which you refer. However, my blog is all about a Yankee living in Carolina. Most of the posts are humorous looks at the differences in the northern and southern cultures – never designating one as better than the other. If you had taken the time to read about me you would have seen that “The Washington metropolitan area will always be home, but while I’m here I might as well enjoy myself by sharing the things that capture my attention, whether they’re aggravating, amusing, or asinine.” I don’ considered myself an enlightened Yankee, but simply enlightened on a topic that many in South Carolina are not – but need to be.

      If you go back and read the post, you’ll see I never said every woman in South Carolina should run for office. We should be women who run or encourage and support those who do. And they shouldn’t be a Nikki Haley, who is poised to be the loudest mouthpiece for this cause, but does next to nothing.

      Thanks for sharing your views.

  11. Respectfully, I love my state and it’s traditions. I don’t expect people whose families weren’t born here to ever understand it. We don’t want or need arrogant , self satisfied, judgemental Yankees coming here trying to change things because they think somehow they are above stupid, rednecks like us. Again, respectfully, if you hate it so much, pack yourself up, preferably with a Yankee under each arm, and get the hell on back to where you came from.

  12. Why are you taking a Southern Culture and comparing it directly with domestic violence, just because there are no woman in the Senate, or law enforcement leadership positions. This is a great example of the ideological views that people such as yourself should consider shutting the hell up before spouting off at the mouth and giving people your fanciful speculative view on things. It’s complete B.S. and an opinion that you have because you don’t, apparently, like men very much(can we say femdom). Just because their are idiots that live here, male and female that can’t seem to get their shit together, don’t take it out on our southern way of life. This is ridiculous. I agree with your point, but don’t blame being southern on your problem with men over powering women. Leave you political BS out of it. I hate the cocks. Go Tigers.

  13. Oh, I love me some GRITS! I have always shown respect to my ladies, it’s the southern way!

  14. For those of you accusing me of saying Yankee culture is better than Southern or South Carolina culture, please re-read my post. In part, I stated “South Carolina’s violence-against-women culture is perpetuated by citizens who complacently allow the good ol’ boy network to rule the roost with weak laws and hypocritical Bible belt values.” I am only criticizing this aspect of the culture down here, which is a huge contributor the sky-high domesticate violence rates and that fact they’re kept quiet.

    I could blog about issues in the North just as easily, but I choose to write about a part of the country I live in, love and sometimes take issue with. I seriously doubt even the most loyal native South Carolinian could justify the political nonsense that goes on here (and elsewhere, of course). I will say that I’ve never heard a Northerner tell a Southerner to go the hell back south. So not charming.

    Oh, and I love grits, too! With cheese and shrimp, of course!

  15. Wow… obviously you haven’t met the right women in South Carolina aka the state I’ve lived in my entire life. I grew up a strong and independent woman and the rest of the women in my family are the same way and “much” of my friends too. We all believe that if a man wants to try and hit us, they’ll be damned if we don’t hit back! Whether it’s literally done or done by calling the cops. Domestic violence happens up North in Yankee land a lot also its just not talked about as much as it is here. I see that you’ve done some research but apparently not enough. I even know women who’ve been hit by guys but guess what… they hit back. I myself got “man handled” and i smacked the living daylights out of him and he never touched me again. Instead of looking at statistics I suggest you do your own research by talking to actual women who’ve had it happen… statistics only goes so far. South Carolina is such an amazing place to grow up and live in, I don’t appreciate someone who didn’t grow up here bashing it and I’m not the only one who feels this way. If you were from here I’d step back but you’re not. Don’t act like you know this state just because you’ve lived here for however many years and have done “research”. And yes I admitted that some men here do ATTEMPT to hit women these days but trust me sweety, they don’t get too far with it. South Carolina women are some of the toughest and strongest women I know. We’d give you Yankee women a run for your money. And I’m sure women where you’re from have gotten beaten except the first thing they do is probably call the cops… yes yall may have more legal strict punishments for those abusers but the women around here have learned how to handle it without cops sometimes precisely because their first time legally caught they only get max 30 days in jail. No, I’m not saying we “kill them” or whatever you’d like to read into it, I’m just saying that like me, sometimes all it takes is a good smack in the face for them to back off. And if they don’t then the law may get involved. I like how your title says “much” when all you really made a point to talk about was domestic abuse and basically you being a feminist. Trust me, most women in SC know how to handle themselves if the occasion calls for it. And take that stupid Carolina USC underwear picture off, it proves nothing… it made me laugh honestly. And really “cocks”… it’s a CHICKEN! I’m all for girl power but you’re reading way too much into all of that. Get off your Yankee high horse chick. We may talk slow but we ain’t stupid.

    • “We may talk slow but we ain’t stupid.”

      As an educated, southern woman, I must beg to differ. You may believe you sound modern, enlightened, and tough; you sound backwoods and ignorant.

      “I’m all for girl power but you’re reading way too much into all of that.”

      It’s opinions like yours that perpetuate sexual assault and interpersonal violence against women as what the World Health Organization labels a pandemic level (i.e., worldwide crisis level). I sincerely hope that you or someone you love never faces a violent assault that is life altering and where flight is not an option.

      • Aw sweety I actually went to a private school middle school through high school just because I don’t talk like you doesn’t mean I’m “backwoods ignorant”. And trust me I’ve already been in the situation, nice try to make me look stupid though. See its people like YOU that give us a bad name. I’m not gunna make myself talk like you just to make people think I’m well educated, which I just so happen to be.
        Thanks for playing, try again.

      • Oh and I’ve been trained with guns ever since I was little so I don’t think “flight” is ever going to be my option. 🙂

      • And one more thing… when I said that I was being what people call a, Smart…Ass…

  16. P.S. when I was up North several years ago, I was actually told to take my “southern dumbass back south”. So you’re argument about how Northerners treat us is invalid. Thanks for playing up how “nice” your people are.

  17. Well grow a pair (all pun intended) and get a Concealed Weapons Permit, further proper weapons training, and a firearm and YOU shoot that piece of shit when he puts his hands on you. Self defense….simple as that. Stop looking for others for your protection and safety. Your life, your responsibility. I am a Mama’s boy through and through and respect women. So don’t pull that card. Instead of playing the blame game and pointing fingers, get a gun and protect yourself. If you think guns are stupid you have been mislead, uninformed, or scared of the unknown. The only bad gun is one in the hands of a bad person or an incompetent person.

  18. Also like some one said earlier we are not ignorant. You opened a huge can of worms with this blog.

    • I think my leaedership role is clear. I advocate for change, am contacting law enforcement, politicians and other community leaders about the issue, I vote, I support candidates (men and women) who address the issue, and I bring awareness of the problem to others. I hope you’re taking a role, too Matthew.

  19. What I really hate about South Carolina – Carolina Yankee - Lightourworld

Comments are closed.