Here’s how Carolinians coast through winter

20131207_152725Tomorrow I’ll head home from a glorious winter week at the beach to see what the future holds for me.

A dear (and I do mean dear) friend gifted me with a week at her beachfront condo in honor of my graduation from college last week. And if that wasn’t wonderful enough, several of my gal pals joined me there, three coming all the way from Maryland. They arrived bearing lovely gifts and suitcases full of summer clothes.

Yes, those Yankee belles thought they’d be able to walk the beach in Capri pants and tank tops. Winters aren’t THAT warm in South Carolina, though we do sometimes wear T-shirts and shorts on Christmas. We did, however, have some mighty fine weather this week. I believe the temperature 20131211_111721was about 55°F when I took this picture. The boots belong to a Yankee who moved to South Carolina seven years ago. The bare feet belong to a Yankee. To no one’s surprise, the latter turned tail and went back to the condo less than five minutes into our walk.

20131213_122051

Today I sat out on the beach for a good long read and went shell shopping in the surf. What’s not to love about South Carolina in the winter? And it’s even sweeter knowing yet another snowstorm is heading for the northeastern states as I sit here listening to waves crashing on the sand outside my window. Heh heh.

I’m not sure why, but traffic on the blog has been heavier than usual the past few days, which serves as a reminder for me to express thanks to my subscribers and visitors. If you like what you see, let me know in the commenst section below. I’d love to hear from you. If you really like what you see, please pop over to  RandomAnnAcdotes. Hope to see you there!

2 thoughts on “Here’s how Carolinians coast through winter

  1. I read volume I of Shelby Foote’s the Civil War and was finding out about him. Somehow I got to Arianna Moliere (which I suspect is fake) and hence to your blog. And very nice it is too.

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

