Puppets can be peachy – but only in Atlanta

Last week I was in Atlanta with Mom, my bestie, sister-in-law and niece to attend Atlantathe High Museum of Art’s “Girl with a Pearl Earring” exhibit. What’s better than a road trip and girl time with a little culture thrown in?

I’m always game for getting out of Columbia (preferably headed north or east) and being on the lookout for fun, quirky, fascinating or downright ridiculous places and people. I found the mother lode in Atlanta.

The bestie and I had a few hours to kill before hooking up with the rest of the girls. Not enough time to take in the Georgia Aquarium, too hot to visit the Zoo Atlanta, Georgia Botanical Garden or Centennial Olympic Park, and not interested in the World of Coca Cola or the CNN Center, all huge tourist attractions. Instead we decided to visit the Center for Puppetry Arts.

I’m not a huge fan of puppets. I put them in the same category as clowns: creepy. Jim HensonThe bestie loves puppets. However, since all the puppets would be behind glass I knew assumed they wouldn’t bother me. I won’t spoil the fun and share all that we saw. Suffice to say I thoroughly enjoyed myself and learned a lot about puppetry. What a delightful museum. Really! And there’s even a deliciously creepy exhibit that was the highlight of my day (and which supports my claim that puppets are creepy).

If you Google “Atlanta sights,” the Center for Puppetry Arts is no. 27 on the list of results. This Creepy puppetsbewilders me. The charming lady running the gift shop told us many people who live in Atlanta never heard of it. The Carolina Yankee would never steer you wrong. Take the kids, take your mom, take yourself to the Center for Puppetry Arts in Atlanta. And take in a show while you’re there. Tell them the Carolina Yankee sent you.

I also highly recommend you catch the Dutch masters “Girl with a Pearl Earring” at the High, which runs through September 29. It was just as fascinating as the puppets, but not creepy at all.

2 thoughts on “Puppets can be peachy – but only in Atlanta

  1. I had to laugh. I have actually BEEN THERE. This was years ago, May of ’92, and my wife was on business there in Atlanta. I took my kids, 2 and 3 on a drive around and found the center. We saw Hansel and Gretel with marionettes. Too funny, I had forgotten all about that trip and that stop.

    • So glad I could jog your memory – and such a pleasant one at that! This just proves that if you put your mind to it, you could think of an excellent topic and be a Carolina Yankee guest blogger. Just sayin’!

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

