I’m tawking and talkin’

I’m often mistaken for a New Yorker based on my accent. That’s odd, because I think I’ve been to New York maybe five times in my life and never for longer than a few days. Maybe the Southerners who think I hail from the Bronx don’t watch accent mockingmovies or TV. I don’t sound anything like Robert De Niro, Fran Drescher, John Travolta or Joan Rivers.

On the other hand, my own brother, who I hadn’t seen in a few years,once told me I sound “like a hick.” I assure you I do not have a Southern accent and have no intention of acquiring one.  In fact, I don’t have an accent. I sound just like all the network news anchors, though the quality of my speech is less refined. It’s called flat Mid-Atlantic American English.

After reading one of my posts on Southernspeak, two Yankee friends were inspired and wrote the poems below. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did. (Click on images to enlarge.)

Sue's Poem

Richard Poem

6 thoughts on “I’m tawking and talkin’

  1. I get a similar “woman without a region” thing. Southerners know I’m not from around here but northerners say I sound southern. I think that’s more pronounced when I’m angry.

    • How many times have you been asked, “You’re not from around here, are you?” It’s like I have antennae sticking out of my head or a third eye. Oh, well.

      Sent from Windows Mail

  2. Yeah, I never noticed much of an accent in your voice. 🙂 You definitely don’t sound Southern. I don’t either. People in Colorado comment on my lack of a Southern accent. After I tell people I’m from the South, some of them say, “yeah, I can kind of tell.” I do say y’all and a few other things, but I pronounce other words Mid-western or Northern ways, too, because I have family from all over the place, I guess. I love accents and hearing the different ways of pronouncing things.

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

