Going soon, a drive-in theater near you

For those of you fortunate to have a drive-in movie theater within 50 miles of your neighborhood, you probably ought to take advantage of it sooner than later. I’ve always loved drive-in theaters, and I have great memories of lying with my siblings in the back of our Pontiac Safari in our pajamas trying to stay awake through the entire movie.

Big MoThe Big Mo is a popular drive-in located about an hour west of Columbia in Monetta, S.C. My youngest son and I drove there a few years back to catch a double feature: “Iron Man” and “Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.”

I raved about The Big Mo last year in an article I wrote for FT Parent. “The Big Mo is the best movie deal around: a double feature for less than the price of a single movie in an indoor theater. And you’re welcome to bring your own food, though plenty is available at the full-service concession stand. Remember sitting in a packed car listening to the crackle of the window speaker? Well, bring your lawn chairs, lift the tailgate or stretch out in the bed of your truck and turn on your vehicle’s radio to listen to the movie in clear stereo. Trivia contests during intermission offer winners free food and other prizes.”

I recommend reading this post by Todd Pack about the inevitable demise of old screendrive-in movie theaters. A piece of Americana is definitely headed for extinction. If you’re lucky enough to have one near you, maybe it’s time to take in a movie there soon before you won’t have that option. Anyone in the Columbia area reading this, let me know if you want to catch a movie at The Big Mo with me one night this summer.

 

6 thoughts on “Going soon, a drive-in theater near you

  1. As a teen in the Bronx, the local drive-in was called “the passion pit.”
    When I moved to Ocala in 1963, there was a drive- in theater. It was great to see a movie on my $4,000 teaching salary while my husband was in graduate school. After we moved, that was the end of drive-ins for me. No place else I’ve lived in has had one. On our travels, we have noticed how many used to be where there is now a vacant lot or a “for sale” sign. It is too bad that Netflix and others will soon eradicate any existing ones.

  2. Drive-Ins | Happenings on the Hill

  3. Thanks for stopping by my blog! I agree this is a pretty popular topic 🙂 I hope you enjoyed reading and come back soon. I will be sure to check out your blog on a regular basis!
    Tammy

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

