The South rises again.

I like country music. I’m not a Brad Paisely fan. I don’t like dorky country music, which is all I’ve ever heard him sing.  Now I can add stupid country music to his repertoire. I won’t judge you if you’re a fan.

The Twitterverse and cable news talking heads are buzzing about Paisley’s collaboration with rapper LL Cool J, “Accidental Racist.”  Paisley’s lyrics lament how the wearing of a T-shirt with a  Confederate flag emblazoned on the front gives people the wrong impression of his Southern pride. As I said in my post, banned flag“My war of aggression,” nothing justifies displaying the Confederate flag outside of a textbook or museum. This song only justifies insensitivity.

LL Cool J‘s portion of the lyrics aren’t much better. I refuse, however, to offer commentary on that because doing so would likely cause ignorant misinformed people to label me a racist. I ruffled a few hypersensitive feathers yesterday when I used the term cotton pickin’  (while talking about a cotton-stuffed rag doll, no less). Uh, I don’t think African Americans have the corner on picking cotton.

What’s my point? I have two: 1) the South needs to put that flag away once and for all; and 2) don’t assume your thoughts are what is coming out of my mouth.

Sorry, but I had to get that out of my system. Now I can put my energy into writing about less aggravating topics, such as pollen. I’ll post that soon.

6 thoughts on “The South rises again.

  1. Well, I’m out of the loop again. I haven’t heard the song. Happy you have it out of your system. Actually, with the current political situation, it’s getting harder to have pride in any state or the country! The pollen has driven me crazy this season.

    • When I was a little girl, I asked my mom what allergies are. She responded, “You kids aren’t allowed to have allergies!” So we didn’t! My older sister developed pollen allergies as an adult and my eyes have begun getting goopy the last few years in the spring and fall. Where’s Mom when I need her? Meantime, I take a Claritan every morning.

  2. body{font-size:10pt;font-family:arial,sans-serif;background-color:#ffffff;color:black;}p{margin:0px;}

    Let no one take offence when none was intended!

  3. The Confederate flag is not a racist southern thing its a political belief of small local state government

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

