Breakfast in Dixie

What did you have for breakfast this morning? If you live down South, the chances are good that you had a steaming bowl of grits laced with butter, salt and pepper or loaded with cheese. Even on the hottest summer days, grits are a Gritsmorning staple in many Southern households.

For those of you who don’t know what grits are, and there are many of you out there, I’ll just briefly say that grits are ground up corn cooked to a porridge-like consistency. It’s similar to Cream of Wheat or Farina, only coarser. Most Southerners would rather starve than let a spoonful of Cream of Wheat pass through their lips. And unlike oatmeal and Cream of Wheat, grits are eaten for breakfast, lunch or dinner, and even served at events such as wedding receptions, gala fundraisers, and holiday parties. Yes, grits can be quite swanky.

I like grits, Cream of Wheat and oatmeal, but I don’t understand the South’s obsession with grits. And I’m not the only one who’s baffled. See for yourself:

I’ll give some Southerners a chance to weigh in on the subject in an upcoming post. In the meantime, let me know if you like grits. If so, give us the nitty gritty on what you put in yours. And I would particularly like to hear from you if you thumb your nose at convention and eat your grits sweet. In an effort to avoid another Civil War, your anonymity is assured.

5 thoughts on “Breakfast in Dixie

  1. I’m a Carolina girl born and bred, and I love Cream of Wheat AND grits!! My mom prepared both for me growing up. My pantry today contains cartons of both.

  2. Grits and sausage gravy, baby; load it up with black pepper.

    buttery biscuit in the side.

    And I am a Connecticut Yankee.

  3. As both of my parents are from the South, we had grits often growing up. I love them with lots of butter, salt and pepper. As any Southern woman knows, however, they do not fit in with a slimming diet and so are reserved as a treat, along with fatback and red-eye gravy.

  4. I will never forget the lumpy Cream of Wheat my mother made us eat for breakfast…spoiled it for most hot cereals for me. When we had an exchange student from Paris, we prepared cheese grits so he could have a “southern” food. He liked them.

Genteel comments and questions welcome!

